We are adult children

When I was twelve, I thought 24 years of age was old and settled. I would have a car, a house, two children, a partner, a job, and I always imagined a grill in the backyard where we would all cook out on the weekends. As I approached fifteen, this no longer was in my mind. At nineteen I realized I didn’t want a normal “American” dream. So many of my peers are discovering other paths and there is great debate amongst our generation and those who came before regarding what to do about it. How should one judge or accept what is happening to our young adults? We have been given The overhead projectorgiven all the options in the world, told we can do what we love. Turns out, we are having a hard time figuring out what we love and if we know what we love we get judged for pursuing it – as “it” typically does not result in much income. This is the paradox of being twenty now. Of being a Generation Qwerty kid.

Twenty somethings at Slate magazine discuss the “problems” with our generation as judged by a New York Times magazine piece about to be published this weekend. . . only maybe we shouldn’t be defending ourselves as much as they are. The world has changed. Our generation grew up with the use of a whole other world: the computer. We are not like others who came before us. We will not be like those who come after us. We balance between the time before the internet, cell phone, etc. . . and the time when all those growing up will never know of a world without constant connectivity. We have more opportunities to be conscious adults before reproducing. Ad we are taking advantage of them. We are on display like never before. And we have to blossom, fail, and pursue our dreams in front of everyone.

About GenQwerty

Twenty-five is the new fifteen, so long as forty is the new thirty. When I was twelve, I was supposed to have a house, car, spouse, child, job and a good "life" at twenty-five. I could be anything I wanted to be, if only I put my mind to it. I have been given every opportunity, and now I can't decide. I'm qwerty about life. I'm part of Generation Qwerty. Follow my blog at genqwerty.com or Twitter @GenQwerty.
This entry was posted in careers, childhood, marriage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Put in your two-cents!

